Page 13 of 28 < 1 2 ... 11 12 13 14 15 ... 27 28 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#143174 - 03/22/11 09:33 AM Update ~ Laos [Re: Qyn]
Lynn P Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Baltimore, Maryland
Good Morning Everyone...

Okay, I now am totally done dealing with apparently incompetent vets. I was so angry yesterday that I couldn't even come on here and vent, but now I need to. I need also to stop self-doubting my "gut" when dealing with Laos and the medical staff.

Took him down to have the staples removed. Okay, should be a normal procedure. I told them that I'm still concerned about some of the swelling and the little bit of drainage that still is present. I'm told don't worry about it, it's just tissue inflammation, etc. That if it was infection the dog would be not feeling this good and he would experience discomfort. Okay, I'm not a medical professional so I believe them.

Laos had about 1/2 inch part of the incision that wasn't totally healed yet. Looks clean, but still this is healing from the inside out. Laos gets up, and I'm not exaggerating, and fluid (the drainage) and this time puss pours out of the incision. I'm standing there with my mouth wide open and not so nicely tell them "okay, tell me again that this isn't infection". I also told them "apparently you haven't been hearing me when I tell you about Laos and his treshold for pain". "You can not tell me that with having such a serious infection at the time of this 2nd surgery that the infection just "disappears" without aggressive antibiotic therapy." I also told them you can not also just rely on culture because of the tendency of "false" negatives.